This website was launched on December 1, 2015. Your membership will help your temple. Please signup...

If you are a temple director, we encourage you to update your temple information. Account members can:

  • Update your profile
  • Find friend(s)
  • Send messages to any member on this website
  • View your temple's members
  • View list of temple events

If you are a temple director, you will also be able to:

  • Update your temple information
  • Add temple event(s)

If you do not see your temple and would like to have it be listed on this site, please also contact us.

Please add my temple to the list

The Noble Eightfold Path

Translated, described, and paraphrased by Jack Panyakone

The Noble Eightfold Path

  • Right Understanding
  • Right Thinking
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Concentration
  • Right Mindfullness

A bank robber might have a Right Understanding on how to rob the bank. A true buddhist person views Robbing the Bank is Not Right. When one observes each of these rightful ways, keep in mind it must relate to Love, Kindness, and Compassion.

In practice, The Noble Eightfold Path is divided into three divisions - slia, samadhi, and panna. Many times, dana is seen listing before these divisions.

  • dāna
  • sila
  • samādhi
  • paññā

dāna: giving without expecting any form of payment (i.e. donation)

sila: the practice of observing 1. Right Speech, 2. Right Action, 3. Right Livelihood

samādhi: the practice of observing 1. Right Effort, 2. Right Concentration, 3. Right Mindulness

paññā: the practice of observing 1. Right Understanding, 2. Right Thinking

The Noble Eightfold Path is the process of ending dukkha which involves the practice of these divisional groups.

Begiining with dāna, one builds the loving, the kindness, and the compassion by giving without expecting the repayment of any forms. In time, dāna will lead to sila.

When silia arises due to the practice of dāna, the practitioner begins to know  what/when/how to apply 1. Right Speech, 2. Right Action, 3.Right Livelihood. when practice deligently, sila will lead to samādhi.

When samādhi is born, Right Effort, Right, Concentration, and Right Mindfulness arise. At this stage, the practitioner uses his mindfulness to concentrate on the effort to help the many. This stage will lead to paññā.

paññā is defined as insight, wisdom, intelligence, and discernment..In everyday understanding, paññā is the ability to thinking and understand clearly the nature of things. When a life is born, three elements are born with it . There are dukkam, aniccam, and anatta. This is the nature of things.

dukkham, aniccam, and anatta are sumed up as follows:

When life is born, (dukka) suffering and unpleasant moments out weight the happiness moments. (anicca) That life does not last forever. There is a constant change from birth through old-age. (anatta) There is no self, no I, no ownership of this perishable body. The unerstanding is that one cannot tell the body from getting sick, growing old, or dying. When one cannot command the body as such, one is not the owner of the body. Therefore, the body has no self to take commands.